East Memphis Rotary History - 2012-2013


President Leighanne Hart
Secretary Alisa Farmer
Treasurer Doug Gordon
President-Elect David Leake
Past President Carolyn Wills

Board of Directors

  • Allie Prescott
  • Bernice Pittman
  • Bob Chance
  • Carol Russell
  • Chris McDermott
  • Dale McGee
  • Jack Robinson
  • Jim Cochran
  • Jim Rout
  • John Seabold
  • John Smarrelli
  • Lynn Lanigan

District Governor

Marty Petrusek, Memphis, TN

Rotary International President

Sakuji Tanaka, Yashio, Saitama, Japan

Membership on July 1, 2012 was 144.  The Memphis City School Board presented RCME a proclamation for 21 years of service to Georgia Avenue Elementary School, which unfortunately for our club’s many volunteers, closed in May of 2012. In September 2012 the club elected to adopt White Station Elementary. The 10th Annual Bobby Dunavant Public Servant Awards luncheon was held with 450 people in attendance.  Keynote speaker was Brad Martin.  Councilman Jim Strickland was the elected winner.  Clyde “Kit”Carson, Jury Commissioner, was named non-elected winner.   The inaugural Dunavant Symposium was held on March 27, 2013 at the University of Memphis.  RCME developed a new website and connected with Facebook and Twitter.  The year was highlighted with outstanding speakers representing business, politics, medicine and sports.   Six delegates were sent to the Rotary Youth Leadership Academy, two delegates being the children of members.  Since 2007 Gift of Life has brought 40 children to Memphis for life-saving heart surgery.  New Member reception was held at Opera Memphis with the Holiday party held at the home of Lauren and Norris McGehee.  Golf tournament with 24 teams held at Chickasaw Country Club.  RCME Foundation fund drive raised approximately $21K with 7 members named Paul Harris Fellows.  Mark Griffee was named Rotarian of the Year.  Sadly, RCME lost long-time member Richard Blount.  Membership on June 30, 2013 was 150.

Upcoming Meetings