East Memphis Rotary History - 2002-2003


President Doug Gordon
Vice President Ron Hansen
Secretary Dale Bullen
Treasurer Kelli Ratton
President-Elect Bill Barnes
Sergeant-at-Arms Darryl Johnson

Board of Directors

  • Byron Winsett
  • Dale McGee
  • Fred Hackl
  • George Colgate
  • Joyce Lower
  • Larry Colbert
  • Lee Webb
  • Marty Aussenberg
  • Mitchell Lansky
  • Nancy Fechter
  • Sonya Barham
  • Tayloe Nickey

District Governor

Gaylon Hall, Memphis, TN

2002-2003 Club History/Activities

Total membership on June 30, 2002 was 126.  This was a year of outstanding programs and social events, beginning with RCME hosting the Tennessee Business Roundtable Association with the Secretary of State, Attorney General, and Commissioner of Finance all presenting a state of the state address.  In addition, Governor Lamar Alexander and U.S. Representtives Harold Ford, Jr., and Marsha Blackburn addressed the club.  Social events included a reception and tour of the Wonders Exhibit, lunch  and tour  of the new Junior Achievement Exchange City arranged by Larry Colbert, and Holiday Party.   Development of a website for the club was implemented. RCME Foundation fund drive saw the endowment fund reach over $100,000.  Ten  Paul Harris Fellows were named.  Georgia Avenue Teacher of the Year was Gwendolyn Brown.  District 6800 Conference was held in Memphis and featured RCME “Prime Time Players” (Wilson Blake, Jim Lattimore, Lee Greene, and Jeff Barnes)  presenting a satire on how to take  a two day conference and reduce it to one hour. Dinner and private showing of the newly arrived Pandas at the Memphis Zoo completed a successful conference. RCME received four awards, Presidential Citation, Membership Growth, Large Club Bulletin Award, and the Annual Fund Giving Award.   Robert Solmson  was honored  as  Citizen of the Year.  Tayloe Nickey was named Rotarian of the Year.

Total membership on June 30, 2003 was 134.

Upcoming Meetings