East Memphis Rotary History - 1996-1997


President Karon O’Connell
Vice President Larry Crowder
Secretary Susan Stone
Treasurer Bob Adams
President-Elect John Seabold
Sergeant-at-Arms Mitchell Lanksy

Board of Directors

  • Bill Phillips
  • George Mitchell
  • John Christiansen
  • John Tilmon
  • Larry Capstick
  • Mark Gates
  • Steve Nelson
  • Virginia Wilson

District Governor

Alan M. Bank - Tupelo, MS

Total membership on June 30, 1996 was 116. The Programs/Speakers committee continued its tradition of notable speakers. Continued effort and commitment with our adopt-a-school, Georgia Avenue, with more member participation. The annual Clothes Closet and Golf Tournament were a success, as well as the Saturday tutoring program. The Teacher of the Year was presented to Charles New. Continued involvement with the Interact Club. The Polio Plus Committee continues helping with community immunizations. The Vocational Award was given to Dr. Jim Willis of State Tech of Memphis. For the first time the Outstanding Citizen Award was given to two separate nominees; Peter law for his outstanding research work, and to the corporate office of Oak Hall for their continued commitment to St. Jude. The Rotarian of the Year was C. Wilson Blake. Karon O’Connell and George Mitchell became Paul Harris Fellows. The Group Study Exchange members visited from Sri Lanka due to the country’s unrest. The Club provided a shopping spree to Maria Rodriguez, a St. Jude patient, and her family from Mexico. A club donation was made to the Nicaguarian heart fund. The club sponsored two kids to Boys/Girls Club summer camp. The Holiday Gala was held at the University Club, and the Spring event was held at the Wonders Titanic Exhibit. The membership as of June 30, 1997 was 115 members, 1 senior active, and 1 honorary.

Upcoming Meetings