East Memphis Rotary History - 2003-2004


President Bill Barnes
Vice President Lee Greene
Secretary Epps Jones
Treasurer Doug Owings
President-Elect Lee Greene
Sergeant-at-Arms Nancy Fechter

Board of Directors

  • Byron Winsett
  • Dale McGee
  • Darryl Johnson
  • David Leake
  • Fred Hackl
  • George Colgate
  • Joe Hauser
  • John Pellicciotti
  • Mitchell Lansky
  • Rick Charlton
  • Tayloe Nickey
  • Wilson Blake

District Governor

Ken Bender, Oxford, MS

2003-2004 Club History/Activities

Membership on June 30, 2004 was 134. Rotary year 2003 blew in with Hurricane Elvis leaving destruction and power outages, but RCME carried on with great programs, increased membership and the establishment of the Bobby Dunavant Public Servant Award. Programs ranged from  Mayors A C Wharton and W. W. Herenton to Mississippi Governor Haley Barbour to Angel, the rescue dog hero.  Bob Chandler’s firm unveiled our new website www.eastmemphisrotary.org. Holiday Party held at home of King and Judy Rogers with 160 in attendance, 25 new members welcomed at Newcomers Reception at Jr. League House. Over  400 attended the inaugural Bobby Dunavant Public Service Award luncheon on February 17, 2004 at The Peabody.  Honored recipients were Robert Lipscomb and Judge Robert Lanier.  92 played in the renamed Bobby Dunavant Golf Classic in May raising $12,500 for charitable projects. The Centennial Project, an arboretum at Shelby Farms, chaired by Past President Doug Gordon was funded by RCME Foundation’s first annual  grant.  The tradition  of generosity  to Georgia Avenue grew this year as Bill Pickens’s firm, Wachovia Securities, donated 100 computers, Dale McGee donated $10,000 in books, 80 children received Angel Tree gifts and a class with special needs received a washing machine including detergent.  RCME received Presidential Citation,  Alice Buford  was named Teacher of the Year, and David Leake  was named Rotarian of the Year.  Total Membership on June 30, 2004 was 148.

Upcoming Meetings