East Memphis Rotary History - 2008-2009


President Neal Graham
Vice President David Leake
Secretary Dr. Dan Dunaway
Treasurer Doug Gordon
President-Elect Larry Colbert

Board of Directors

  • Buddy Wittichen
  • Carl White
  • Chris McDermott
  • Ed Roberson
  • Janie Day
  • John Glass
  • John Seabold
  • Leighanne Hart
  • Reg Udouj
  • Tim Bowers
  • Tom Wilson
  • Tracy Chism

District Governor

King W. Rogers, Memphis, TN

Rotary International President

Dong Kurn Lee, Seoul Korea

Total membership on July 1, 2008 was 138.  Continued commitment to George Avenue Elementary School with club meetings held at the school in December 2008 and May of 2009.  Dictionary project continued with dictionaries distributed to all  third graders.  Sixty-five students received Angel Tree gifts.  Sixteen students had perfect attendance and received a bike.  Mrs. Betty Smith was named Teacher of the Year.  Annual golf tournament was held on Columbus Day at  Germantown Country Club. The Gift of Life  program continued to grow with more children coming to  LeBonheur Children’s Hospital for heart surgery.  Established a Rotaract Club at University of Memphis and new Interact Club at Overton High School.  Sponsored five juniors from area high schools to Rotary Youth Leadership Academy.  New member reception held at Opera Memphis with the Holiday Gala held at the home of Neal and Katherine Graham.  The sixth annual Bobby Dunavant Public Servant Awards luncheon was held at The Peabody. Keynote speaker was Autozone President and CEO Bill Rhodes.  Police Director Larry Godwin was named non-elected public servant.   City Councilman Bill Boyd was named elected public servant.  RCME Foundation’s fund drive raised approximately $20,000 with six members named Paul Harris Fellows.  Bill Schrader was named Rotarian of the Year.  Membership on June 30, 2009 was 149.

Upcoming Meetings