Dunavant Awards

Background – Annual civic support program of Rotary Club of Memphis East, started in 2003 to recognize outstanding career service by one elected and one non-elected public servant in Shelby County.  Named to honor the memory of Bobby Dunavant, former Probate Court Clerk, who was widely acclaimed as a humble and outstanding Civil Servant.  The event is co-sponsored by the Daily News.

Nominations – May be made by anyone. Deadline is February 1, 2018. Forms are at:

Selection Process – Nominations are reviewed by a committee comprised of members of our Rotary Club and a representative of the Dunavant Family.

When/Where – Wednesday, February 28, 2018, 11:30 a.m., luncheon at University of Memphis Holiday Inn, Memphis. Typical attendance is 400 – 500. Contact Lee Hughes for reservations.  

The 2018 Keynote Speaker is Carolyn Hardy, President and CEO of Chism Hardy Investments LLC.

Previous Honorees

2003     Robert Lanier – Retired Circuit Court Judge
Robert Lipscomb – CEO, Memphis Housing Authority
2004   Bill Gibbons – Shelby County District Attorney General
Joe Reves – CAO, County Register’s Office
2005   A C Wharton, Jr. – Mayor, City of Memphis
The late Dorothy Osradker – Senior Assistant City Attorney
2006   Judge Larry E. Potter – Shelby County Environmental Court
D. David Barber – Shelby County Division of Corrections
2007   A. Keith McDonald – Mayor, City of Bartlett
Brian L. Kuhn – Shelby County Attorney
2008   William C. Boyd – Memphis City Council, District 2
Larry A. Godwin – Memphis Police Director
2009   Sharon Goldsworthy – Mayor, City of Germantown
Jean Soucy – City of Memphis, Division of Public Works
2010   Mark Lutrell – Mayor of Shelby County
Amy P. Weirich – Shelby County District Attorney General
2011   Myron Lowery – Memphis City Councilman
Ted Illsley – Memphis/Shelby County Code Enforcement
2012   Jim Strickland – Memphis City Council
Clyde “Kit” Carson – Chairman of Board of Jury Commissioners
2013   Chris Craft – Criminal Court Judge
James Lewellen – Collierville City Manager
2014   William “Billy” Orgel, Shelby County School Board
Steve Shular, Shelby County Public Affairs Officer
2015   Mark Norris, Majority Leader of Tennessee State Senate
Lisa Geater, Chief of Staff for Memphis Mayor Jim Strickland
2016   Stan R. Joyner, Mayor, Town of Collierville
Keenon McCloy, Director, Memphis Publid Library & Information Center

Previous Keynote Speakers 

U.S. Senator Lamar Alexander, U.S. Senator Howard Baker; Governor Haley Barbour, Mississippi; Governor Phil Bredesen, Tennessee; Former U. S. Congressman Harold Ford, Jr.; Former U. S. Senator Philip Gramm; Governor Bill Haslam, Tennessee; Brad Martin, Interim President, University of Memphis; Dr. Scott Morris, Church Health Center; William C. Rhodes, III, AutoZone President and CEO; Fred Smith, FedEx President and CEO; Memphis Mayor A C Wharton; Spence L. Wilson, Board Chairman Kemmons Wilson Companies, U. S. Senator Bob Corker

© 2020 East Memphis Rotary, All Rights Reserved
504 W. Sanga Circle Cordova, TN 38108  |  (901) 754-1615  |